The Agenda 2030

The Agenda 2030 contains goals for sustainable development (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs). Sustainable development is understood as a comprehensive development in economic, ecological and social terms.

The Agenda 2030 was adopted in September 2015 by the member states of the United Nations. It is valid for all states of this world – irrespective of whether they are developing, emerging or industrial countries.

Primarily, the Agenda 2030 refers to the level of nation states. However, it is also relevant to the regional and local level, without which government goals usually cannot be accomplished.

At the heart of the Agenda 2030 are the 17 Sustainable Development Goals with 169 subgoals. These goals relate to topics as diverse as poverty, health, education, energy, work and international partnership.

For the implementation of the Agenda 2030 in the communities, an indicator-based monitoring is envisaged. This means that indicators or key figures need to be defined, with which the achievement of sustainability goals can be displayed and reviewed.

Die Agenda 2030

Die Agenda 2030 enthält Ziele für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs). Nachhaltige Entwicklung wird dabei als eine umfassende Entwicklung in ökonomischer, ökologischer und sozialer Hinsicht verstanden.

Verabschiedet wurde die Agenda 2030 im September 2015 von den Mitgliedstaaten der Vereinten Nationen. Sie ist gültig für alle Staaten dieser Welt – unabhängig davon, ob es sich um Entwicklungs-, Schwellen- und Industrieländer handelt.

Primär bezieht sich die Agenda 2030 auf die Ebene der Nationalstaaten. Relevant ist sie allerdings auch für die regionale und lokale Ebene, ohne die staatliche Ziele i.d. R. nicht erreicht werden können.

Das „Herzstück“ der Agenda 2030 sind die 17 Ziele für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung mit ihren 169 Unterzielen. Die Ziele beziehen sich auf so unterschiedliche Themen wie Armut, Gesundheit, Bildung, Energie, Arbeit und internationale Partnerschaft.

Zur Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 in Kommunen ist ein indikatorengestütztes Monitoring vorgesehen. D. h., es sind Indikatoren oder Kennzahlen zu definieren, mit denen die Erreichung der Nachhaltigkeitsziele abgebildet und überprüft werden kann.