Skip to content

The 2030 Agenda with its 17 SDGs

The resolution 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development was passed by the United Nations in 2015. Its central focus is on 17 Sustainable Development Goals, or SDGs.

The SDGs apply to industrial, developing and emerging economies alike. They replace the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), which the UN enacted in 2000 and were only applicable to developing and emerging economies.

The SDGs cement the status of sustainable development as the permanent, balanced and integrated development in all relevant dimensions - economic, environmental and social - and on all relevant levels of government - national, regional and local.