Skip to content

About the project

SDG Indicators for municipalities

In 2015 the United Nations set international Sustainable Development Goals in its 2030 Agenda. The SDGs are relevant not only at national and regional level, but also at local level.

Objective

The objective of the project “SDG Indicators for municipalities” is to identify suitable indicators to depict the implementation of SDGs at municipal level in Germany and provide corresponding data.

Among the indicators which are suitable for identification are the collection, evaluation and selection of indicators for the SDG sub-targets and intermediate targets that are generally relevant at municipal level in Germany.

Data is provided for all towns and municipalities with a population of more than 5,000 and for all counties (Landkreise).

Methodology

The methodological procedure for developing and providing SDG Indicators for municipalities can be roughly divided into three phases: checking the relevancy of SDGs (phase I), evaluating and describing the indicators (phase II) and the collection and analysis of indicator parameters (phase III).

Phase I comprises three stages: in the first stage, the sub-targets were sub-divided into individual statements (intermediate targets) where necessary. In the second stage, the question of whether the respective individual target addresses a major problem for German municipalities (problem check) was assessed. In the third stage, the question of whether municipal tasks could help to contribute to the achievement of the respective individual sub-target or intermediate target (task check) was examined.

Phase II consisted of four stages: in stage one, selected indicator catalogues and databases were used in order to assign the indicators they contained to the sub-targets or intermediate targets that were classed as relevant. In the second stage, all indicators were checked for validity, data availability, data quality and function, which allowed a better assessment of the overall quality of the indicators. In the third stage, particularly suitable parameters were selected for the SDG Indicators catalogue. In stage four, info profiles gave detailed descriptions of the selected indicators.

The subject of Phase III was the collection and analysis of indicator parameters. As far as possible, data collection extended to all towns and municipalities with a population of more than 5,000 and to all counties (Landkreise). The purpose of data analyses was to arrive at a better understanding of the interrelations between Type I Indicators.

You can find more information on the methods used at agenda2030vorort.de.

Organisation

A working group was formed and discussion events held to organize the project “SDG Indicators for municipalities“. In addition, the interim results were discussed in the Advisory Committee of the Bertelsmann Stiftung project “2030 Agenda – Sustainable Local Development”.

The members of the working group “SDG Indicators for municipalities” are Bertelsmann Stiftung, the Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development (BBSR), the Association of German Counties (DLT), the Association of German Cities (DST), the German Association of Towns and Municipalities (DStGB), the German Institute of Urban Studies (Difu), ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability and the German section of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions (CEMR).

Among the target groups of the discussion events were the municipalities that had signed the model resolution of the DST and the CEMR on the 2030 Agenda for sustainable development, the model municipalities in the projects “Global Sustainable Municipalities” of Engagement Global with its Service Agency Communities in One World (SKEW), and the towns and counties involved in the Bertelsmann Stiftung’s project “Monitor Sustainable Municipality“ and the follow-up project “2030 Agenda – Sustainable Local Development”.

The members of the project Advisory Committee include representatives of the towns and counties involved in the Bertelsmann Stiftung project (currently the City of Arnsberg, the City of Freiburg im Breisgau, the City of Eltville am Rhein, the City of Geestland, the City of Münster, Bad-Württemberg state capital Stuttgart and the counties Cochem-Zell and Lippe), representatives of the municipal umbrella organisations, the German Institute of Urban Studies (Difu), the Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development (BBSR), the Service Agency Communities in One World (SKEW) of Engagement Global, the German Council for Sustainable Development (RNE), the State of North Rhine-Westphalia’s sustainability working group LAG Agenda 21 NRW e.V., ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability, and other experts.

Springe zum Inhalt

Über das Projekt

SDG-Indikatoren für Kommunen

Die Vereinten Nationen haben 2015 im Rahmen der Agenda 2030 Ziele für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) verabschiedet. Die SDGs sind nicht nur für die nationale und regionale, sondern auch für die lokale Ebene relevant.

Die Zielsetzung

Das Ziel des Projekts „SDG-Indikatoren für Kommunen“ besteht darin, geeignete Indikatoren zur Abbildung der SDG-Umsetzung auf kommunaler Ebene in Deutschland zu identifizieren und entsprechende Daten bereitzustellen.

Zur Identifizierung geeigneter Indikatoren gehören die Sammlung, Bewertung und Auswahl von Indikatoren für die Unter- bzw. Teilziele der SDGs, die auf kommunaler Ebene in Deutschland grundsätzlich relevant sind.

Die Bereitstellung der Daten erfolgt – soweit als möglich – für alle Städte und Gemeinden über 5.000 Einwohner:innen sowie alle Landkreise.

Die Methodik

Das methodische Vorgehen zur Entwicklung und Bereitstellung von SDG-Indikatoren für Kommunen kann grob in drei Phasen gegliedert werden: die Prüfung der Relevanz der SDGs (Phase I), die Bewertung und Beschreibung der Indikatoren (Phase II) sowie die Erhebung und Analyse der Indikatorenwerte (Phase III).

Die Phase I gliederte sich in drei Schritte: Im ersten Schritt wurden die Unterziele ggf. in einzelne Aussagen (Teilziele) unterteilt. Im zweiten Schritt wurde geprüft, ob durch das jeweilige Unter- bzw. Teilziel ein wesentliches Problem für deutsche Kommunen angesprochen wird (Problem-Check). Im dritten Schritt wurde untersucht, ob mithilfe kommunaler Aufgaben ein Beitrag zur Erreichung des untersuchten Unter- bzw. Teilziels geleistet werden kann (Aufgaben-Check).

Die Phase II erfolgte in vier Schritten: Im ersten Schritt wurden ausgewählte Indikatorenkataloge und Datenbanken herangezogen, um die darin enthaltenen Indikatoren den als relevant eingestuften Unter- bzw. Teilzielen zuzuordnen. Im zweiten Schritt wurden alle Indikatoren anhand ihrer Validität, Datenverfügbarkeit, Datenqualität und Funktion überprüft, um die Gesamtqualität der Indikatoren besser einschätzen zu können. Im dritten Schritt wurden besonders gut geeignete Kennzahlen für den SDG-Indikatorenkatalog ausgewählt. Im vierten Schritt wurden die ausgewählten Indikatoren in Form von Steckbriefen ausführlich beschrieben.

Die Phase III bezog sich auf die Erhebung und Analyse von Indikatorenwerten. Die Datenerhebung erstreckte sich möglichst auf alle Städte und Gemeinden über 5.000 Einwohner:innen sowie alle Landkreise. Die Datenanalysen diente dem Zweck, ein besseres Verständnis für die Zusammenhänge der Indikatoren vom Typ I zu erhalten.

Weitere Informationen zur Methodik finden Sie unter agenda2030vorort.de.

Die Organisation

Zur Organisation des Projekts „SDG-Indikatoren für Kommunen“ wurden eine Arbeitsgruppe eingesetzt und Diskussionsveranstaltungen durchgeführt. Darüber hinaus wurden die Zwischenergebnisse im Beirat des Projekts „Monitor Nachhaltige Kommune“ bzw. des Folgeprojekts „Agenda 2030 – Nachhaltige Entwicklung vor Ort“ der Bertelsmann Stiftung diskutiert.

Mitglieder der Arbeitsgruppe „SDG-Indikatoren für Kommunen“ sind die Bertelsmann Stiftung, das Bundesinstitut für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung, der Deutsche Landkreistag, der Deutsche Städtetag, der Deutsche Städte- und Gemeindebund, das Deutsche Institut für Urbanistik und Engagement Global mit ihrer Servicestelle Kommunen in der Einen Welt sowie die Deutsche Sektion des Rats der Gemeinden und Regionen Europas.

Die Diskussionsveranstaltungen richten sich u. a. an die Kommunen, die die Musterresolution des Deutschen Städtetags und des Rats der Gemeinden und Regionen Europas zur Agenda 2030 für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung unterzeichnet haben, an die Modellkommunen der landesspezifischen Projekte „Global Nachhaltige Kommune“ von Engagement Global mit ihrer Servicestelle Kommunen in der Einen Welt sowie an die an dem Projekt „Monitor Nachhaltige Kommune“ bzw. dem Folgeprojekt „Agenda 2030 – Nachhaltige Entwicklung vor Ort“ der Bertelsmann Stiftung beteiligten Städte und Landkreise.

Dem Projektbeirat gehören Vertreter:innen der Städte und Landkreise, die am Projekt der Bertelsmann Stiftung beteiligt sind (zur Zeit: Stadt Arnsberg, Stadt Freiburg i. Brsg., Stadt Eltville am Rhein, Stadt Geestland, Stadt Münster, Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart sowie Landkreis Cochem-Zell und Kreis Lippe), Vertreter:innen der kommunalen Spitzenverbände, des Deutschen Instituts für Urbanistik, des Bundesinstituts für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung, der Servicestelle Kommunen in der Einen Welt von Engagement Global, des Rats für Nachhaltige Entwicklung, der Landesarbeitsgemeinschaft Agenda 21 NRW e.V., von ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability sowie weitere Fachexpert:innen an.